Hey guys

I have ten or so foundations in rotation through the year, but not every foundation I own is as yellow as I need it to be. So I’m going to show you how I change the undertone and shade of my foundation. It’s really simple and now you can finish all of the wrong color foundations that are sitting in your makeup drawer. Let’s begin.

CHANGING THE UNDERTONE

Food coloring

The easiest way I have found is food coloring. I only tried it with yellow so I don’t know if this works with  pink or  red color. Food coloring is cheap and very pigmented, if you add too much you will turn your foundation orange, so be careful. Some girls like to add it to the foundation bottle and then shake it well, but I like to mix the foundation and a drop of food coloring at the back of my hand and then apply it to my face. It’s your choice. Try mixing it a few times before application so you can figure out how much you need. The foundation I’m using for this tutorial is the L’oreal Paris Infallible 24 Hour Matte foundation in 20 Sand and yellow food coloring I found at home.

20160426_160049.jpg

I added too much food coloring so you can clearly see the difference.

Jpeg
This is the before and after food coloring was added (the foundation is more pink in real life)

 

HOW TO LIGHTEN/DARKEN YOUR FOUNDATION 

This can be achieved using pigments. Mine are from Alverde but I know The Body Shop, NYX, Manic Panic and others make them. All you need to do is add couple of drops of the right pigment to your foundation on the back of your hand and mix well.

Jpeg
These are the pigments I use

 

That’s all from me, I hope you liked it. Do you need to change your foundation or do you find a good match at the drugstore? Leave me a comment 🙂

 

Lucy XX

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Customize Your Foundation

Leave a comment